Kashi Seven Grain Pilaf

I’m a big fan of Kashi products (most of the time).  Today, I made some of the Kashi Seven Grain Pilaf and added some stir fried vegetables to the mix.  (See photo below)

Here is the thing, though.  Whenever I make any sort of grain product according to the package directions, it usually ends up mushy or watery or both.  Today, was the both category.  I don’t like mush.  I like my grains to be plump and have some structure to them.  I grew up eating rice and this was never a problem.  I don’t think we ever used directions for anything, but tonight is further proof that I should never ever follow the cooking directions for the water to grain ratio on packages.  I should just go with my instinctual knowledge.

Leave a Reply

