Evolution – backwards style

I’m going back in time to eat paleo or primal or whatever you want to call that grain free, dairy free, and all things processed free diet. Is it really a diet though? I think it’s more about a lifestyle (a discussion for another time).  I’m not really a diet person, but the arguments for better health have intrigued me, so we’re giving it a shot.

For curious minds, head over to Mark’s Daily Apple or Robb Wolf.  Both are excellent websites on paleo/primal eating.  The best part are all the before and after pictures and stories.

So, here on Funny Eater, there have been mostly a focus on whole grains, whole foods, and the like. Paleo is sort of a 180 shift. All those whole grains…in fact all grains…good bye. Good bye grains of all types. Also, good bye soy, good bye dairy, good bye sugar, and good bye potatoes (didn’t eat much of those anyway since my nutrition professor said the high glycemic index was not a good thing).

So, what am I going to miss?  In no particular order.

1. cheese – I love melted cheese.  It makes just about anything taste way better.  Plus, it has a huge comfort factor.

2. soy – I love tofu, especially the soft kind.

3. cereal – I love Kashi cereal because it tastes great and is fast eating in the mornings.  Oh well, time to figure out something else.

4. grains – yeah, I’ll miss them, but not too much.

5. peanut butter – peanuts are on the “no” list.  I’m already eating almond butter anyway, so I guess it’s not a huge loss.

6. yogurt – easy and convenient with lots of healthy bacteria…if all goes well, I might let you back in, but for now, good bye.

What am I going to have trouble with?

1. Eating protein at every meal.  I’m not a huge fan of meat.  In fact, I’m pretty sure if you look back at most of the recipes, they’re all vegetarian except for a few.

2. Remembering not to buy foods that are not on the plan.  I went to the grocery store today and found myself being like that would be good and then quickly thinking, “Whoops!  Not on the plan.”  I’m going to get around this, by shopping at farmer’s markets this summer.  Plus, eating local is better.  🙂

After I catch up with my back logged photos, you won’t be seeing grains or dairy for a while.  You might see eggs every so often, but I’m told that starting out it’s best to keep it to vegetables, meat, and seafood.  I’m interested to see how it all plays out.

Anyone else eating paleo/primal?

3 responses to “Evolution – backwards style

  • paleoadventure

    I’m not sure where you heard it’s best to keep it to veggies, meat, and seafood? Eggs are most definitely good for you to eat, especially the omega 3 ones.

    Cheese, soft tofu, yogurt, and peanut butter were on my list of foods I thought I’d miss too, along with almost every kind of dessert. But you know what? After a while of eating paleo, you stop feeling like you’re missing anything from your diet. When you do eat something non-paleo after eating paleo for a while, you’ll find that it doesn’t taste as good as you remember. Not to mention that you’ll feel sick…

    Paleo is definitely a lifestyle. It’s important to give yourself a little slack so that it doesn’t become a restrictive diet.

    • koritt

      Hello.

      Thank you for the comment. Robb Wolff’s FAQs suggest keeping eggs (along with some other foods) out of the mix initially for those with autoimmune issues. So for now, we’re forgoing the eggs. I definitely don’t plan on eggs being gone forever. I like them too much and I’m not sure what I’d eat for breakfast without them. 🙂

      I have never really dieted before, so this is an interesting experience for me. I haven’t dieted mostly because I’m not interested in counting calories or following a bunch of rules to the letter. I have had friends who have done paleo and really wasn’t interested until more recently when I spent some time reading about it. I decided to try it for all the benefits, but also because it doesn’t have crazy rules.

      Thanks again for visiting and commenting!

  • Funny Eater Gone Paleo « Funny Eater

    […] went paleo/primal a couple of weeks ago.  I’ve been finding out all sorts of things about people who eat […]

Leave a Reply

