Farmer’s Market!

**cross posted to Forks in the Crossroad**

Once you start eating paleo/primal and you consider what you put into your body, not only do you eat differently, but you shop differently for food. Case in point, we’ve gone to the Farmer’s Market every week since we started. It’s the highlight of my week and the food is well worth the effort.

The food just tastes better. We usually have to do a midweek run to a grocery store or farm market store, but that is never the same. The produce just doesn’t taste as good. Different foods have lots of different flavors.

I remember as a kid we had a vegetable garden and while I would eat the vegetables that came out of that garden (even the tomatoes!), I really didn’t like vegetables otherwise. Why? Food from the grocery store doesn’t really have a taste and the taste that it does have is kind of yucky. I always think that carrots taste like dish soap. Gross!

So, we’re heading to the Farmer’s Market in a bit. Just thought I’d let you know. (Don’t think the pictures are going to go up very fast though, because right now I’m in deep trouble for procrastinating on my regular life. I’ll have them for you, but not until later.)

Have a great day! (And stay cool to those folks suffering from excessive summer heat today.)

4 responses to “Farmer’s Market!

  • paleoadventure

    So true!! Since eating paleo, I’ve become so picky about how my food was raised/grown! I have noticed that while the farmers market always has fresher produce (can’t beat just picked!), it’s not always organic. Doesn’t matter so much for some veggies, but for others, pesticide residue is a concern.

    I’m kinda jealous of the heat that the rest of the country seems to be experiencing. Summer hasn’t arrived yet in the PNW. It’s cold here!

  • koritt

    Pesticide residue is a problem for me, too. I use a vegetable and fruit wash on all my produce. The one I use is from environne (http://www.environne.com/). I tried some other ones, but this one is the best. You can usually find it in the produce section of grocery stores. They also have it on Amazon.

    I’ll take your cold over the hot humidity any day! Guess I should move to the pacific northwest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

