On Meats

So today I went to the farmer’s market here.  Sadly, there is no happy organic farmer here.  I think I much rather prefer my smaller farmer’s market to this slightly larger one.  I don’t really need the extra stalls or the extra variety.  I just need what I need and I had it all at my small market.

However, my melancholy over not having an organic farmer here is really not the point of this post.  The point of this post is that I found something interesting today.  I should have probably taken a picture, but I didn’t think to.

Today, I found a seller at market who sells rabbit meat.  A complete novelty.  I have expanded my meat repertoire to include bison and some duck in the last month and a half, but rabbit never crossed my mind.  I stood far away and hemmed and hawed over whether I would be adventurous and try cooking a rabbit.  I chose to stick to my ways and did not buy rabbit meat.

However, I am curious to find out if anyone has tried it and what their thoughts are on rabbit meat.

I have been considering this whole rabbit meat deal on and off all day.  I don’t think I can do it.  The whole idea is a little squeamish for me.  Not to mention that rabbit conjures up tularemia in my head for me…sorry, I study medicine and that’s what we are taught.

I did a little research and came upon this article in the New York Times on rabbit meat.  Apparently, there are restaurants that serve rabbit.  I think, perhaps, I would be willing to try it at a restaurant, but I’m not sure that I could cook one on my own.

So, those are my thoughts today post-market.

I did do some shopping at the market and bought some onions, green beans, red cabbage, beef, and yogurt.  I’ve decided to add back some dairy to my diet.  I find it doesn’t bother me and I rather like having yogurt to eat my fruit with.  I don’t do well with eating fruit by itself.

No pretty photos today.  I’ll see if I can get some up soon.  Studying and working all the time really puts a crimp in blogging.  Not that I was doing a fantastic job to begin with.  😛

One response to “On Meats

Leave a Reply

