More Food from Today and Some Thoughts

I kept on cooking after breakfast.  I like to have food stocked away for the week so I don’t have to think about what I’m going to eat.  This week, I feel a little bit uninspired and mostly just not feeling the desire to cook.  Ce la vie.

I did cook though.  I had some short ribs from the farmer’s market yesterday and made some galbi jjim the Kaprise kitchen way with a few minor changes.

I boiled the short ribs for about 15 minutes as instructed.  Then drained and washed my lovely orange Le Creuset.  (If you don’t have one of these, you really should save up for one.  It’s so worth it.)  As you can see below, my short ribs were more like middling ribs…the bones were longer than I am used to.

I added in some onions, also from the farmer’s market.

 

And then drizzled on the marinade/sauce/whatever you call it.  I added some ginger to mine because I had it around and it’s supposed to be good for you.  I also added some elephant garlic to the pot because I had it and wanted to use it up.

I forgot that my marinade photo was more artistic due to my not holding still long enough.  That’s the best I’ve got.  After I simmered the short ribs, onions, elephant garlic, and marinade for 15 minutes, I added in my vegetables.  I put in green beans and carrots because that’s what I had.  Personally, I prefer to put in potatoes and mushrooms and the like as in the Kaprise kitchen recipe, but I did not plan very well for this dish when I went shopping for food yesterday.

After an hour of double double boil and trouble (well, more like a very low simmer), I had a beautiful pot of galbi jjim.

The final product was tasty, but the green beans did not hold up very well to the prolonged cooking.  Next time, I’m sticking to the usual galbi jjim suspects and getting me some mushrooms and other hardy root type vegetables.  I’m still on the fence about whether I’m going to eat potatoes or not.  The little red ones are especially good in galbi jjim.

This is what lunch looked like:

While I was cooking the galbi jjim, it occurred to me that while I was making my kitchen hot and had a timer on for an hour, I should roast my neglected acorn squash (it’s been in my fridge for a long time) and the beets that I bought yesterday.  I love me some roasted beets and it’s been a while since I had some.  I think at the beginning of the summer, my mom and I were eating them almost all the time.  These beets were not our farm fresh beets, but some lovely organic ones from California.

The acorn squash got a rub of olive oil and a sprinkle of himalayan salt and black pepper.  I added some water to the bottom of the baking dish to keep things moist.  (This is the first time I’ve roasted an acorn squash, so I googled and mixed up different techniques to my liking…after all, I am Funny Eater.)  The roasted beets, I roasted my usual way.  After about 20 minutes, I turned the pan so that the squash and beets switched sides of the oven.  I’m sure it was completely unnecessary as this was the second time I’ve used this brand new oven, but why not flip sides.  (PS Electric ovens take forever to preheat and I ended up roasting for a while longer after my galbi jjim was done…I clearly need to work on my timing.)

In the end I got some beautifully roasted acorn squash:

Lovely red beets (you should have seen my hands after I sliced these all up):

And some beet juice and olive oil dressing:

I think that should be enough food for a while.  I also washed my veggies (goldbar squash, broccoli, string beans) and chopped my onions.  Those are all now stashed in my fridge for quick cooking.

That’s the food tour for today.

As for thoughts, I’m thinking that all my compartmentalizing between Forks in the Crossroads and Funny Eater is getting to be more work than I really need.  I’m considering just giving up on the endeavor and compiling everything into one blog.  Sure, Funny Eater isn’t the best title for a blog that includes random thoughts about sleeping and such, but it would save me time.  Is it weird that I compartmentalize (or try to) my life and posts into two blogs or is it weirder to have one blog that has everything?

Thoughts?  Anyone?

3 responses to “More Food from Today and Some Thoughts

Leave a Reply

