Red Cabbage Delight

One of the great things about farmer’s markets is that I learn about foods that were never on my radar before.  Sometimes it’s a neglected fruit or vegetable that I’ve forgotten about, but most of the times I’m finding new things to eat.  Expanding my repertoire is exciting, fun, and best of all, I’m not missing any of the nightshades that I’ve cut out of my diet.  (It would be far more convenient, though, to be eating nightshades.)

Cabbage is one of those on my radar but I often forget vegetables.  I love red cabbage in particular because of it’s beautiful purple hue.  It also cooks up wonderfully.  Well, last week I bought a head of red cabbage and then didn’t really feel up to figuring out what to do with it.  I did a little research and found this recipe on Nom Nom Paleo.

I chose this recipe since I had all the ingredients…well, sort of…some slight modifications aside, I had all the ingredients.  So, here goes.

First, you need some duck fat.  I had some on hand when I found it in the grocery store.  The container claims that it’s better than butter and it is pretty good.  Although, I don’t know if I’d ever smear duck fat on my toast.

Next, we need a sturdy pan or pot.  I went for the gold standard: Le creuset.

Melt the duck fat in the pot over medium-high heat (I think…don’t ask me to decipher electric ranges…I just go with the flow.) and add the onions.  As you can see below, my onions are all different shapes and sizes because I wasn’t thinking when I started chopping and instead of pretty semi-circular slices, I ended up with some squares and chunks and some semi-circular slices.  Not so pretty, but still tasty in the end.

While that’s going, chop your cabbage.  This is my rather large red cabbage.

I didn’t end up using all of my chopped up cabbage.  Don’t forget your other ingredients.  Now, this is where I made a couple of sneaky changes.  I used red wine vinegar instead of sherry vinegar.  I wasn’t about to go out and buy another bottle of vinegar to sit in my cupboard.  I also used Himalayan salt instead of sea salt.  The pink stuff is the good stuff.  (I know that I never wrote a post on Himalayan salt even though I promised I would…maybe some day soon.)

 

Add chopped cabbage and ingredients to pot. Don’t forget the half cup of water that I never took a picture of.  (Oh yeah, I used a big bay leaf and a small bay leaf.  The recipe said one bay leaf.  I’m Funny Eater, what did you expect?)

Stir together, cover, and simmer away for 20 minutes.  In the meantime, dig out that apple that’s been in your fridge forever.  Mine was a pretty green granny smith.

Remember to take a picture after you start cutting.  Then, because you don’t have a grater, use your handy vegetable peeler to “grate” your apple.  No shortage of Funny Eater kitchen tricks today.

Once the timer beeps at you, stir in the shredded apple bits and simmer for another 5 minutes.  Don’t forget to check to see if you need more black pepper and salt.  When you’re done, you get something that looks like this:

Try not to eat it straight out of the pot or pan.  You’ll be sorry and your mouth will be burned.  A quick cool down in a bowl will make it ready to eat.

This recipe is easy, tasty, and makes a big pot.  If I had a larger pot, I would have tried to shove more cabbage into the pot, but even without using the whole head of cabbage I got a nice big pot of this.  I’ll be eating this all week.  (Or eating it all up for dinner tonight.)

Leave a Reply

