Breakfast This Morning

Breakfast this morning was a easy to put together egg scramble over fresh lettuce and arugula.  I’m not big on fresh greens.  Not because I don’t like them, but I somehow often forget to eat them.  So when I get fresh greens from the market, it can be a little stressful to remember to eat the greens before they get all goopy and wilty.  My strategy is to either eat my greens using them as a wrap for food or to put the greens under something else that I have no difficult eating.  I think my big problem with fresh greens is that I think of them as cold.

So, I started off breakfast this morning with some oil (pick your favorite) and some leftover broccoli.  Unfortunately, this broccoli was of the previously frozen kind so it was a bit mushier than I like.  I also tossed in a dash of salt (Himalayan, my favorite) and a good dose of black pepper.  I found that I like the extra black pepper because it gives the whole dish a good flavor.

I chopped up a chicken and apple sausage that I had in the fridge and added that to the pan.

And when things were getting good, I added two farm fresh eggs. Stir and place atop a bed of greens of your liking.  Today was an arugula and lettuce day for me.

As you can see, I don’t whisk my eggs before putting them in the pan, nor do I try to make things look even.  I like it sort of swirly and different.  I also usually stop cooking before the yolks are set because I like the yolks better when they aren’t all dry and pasty.

Along with breakfast, I also had a cup of this tea that I picked up the last time I was out food shopping.

It’s a lemon ginger tea that’s made with holy basil.  Don’t ask me what holy basil is, I don’t know.  I do know that the tea is tasty though.

In other news, the cabbage I made from last night ended up on a bed of arugula and lettuce with an egg last night.  I only have pictures of the players separately, just imagine what that egg would look like on top of the salad.

That about rounds it up for this morning on the food front.

I whiled away most of this morning by sleeping in late, doing a little yoga, cooking, and eating.  I think now it’s time to get out into the outdoors for a long jaunt.  I’m thinking coffee shop to do some thinking and thank you letter writing.  Then probably off to the market for a few things that I neglected to buy yesterday at the farmer’s market.

Have a wonderful Sunday!

Leave a Reply

