November

Winter is coming as much as it pains me to say that.  The sun is still bright and lovely, but the air is cold with a bite to it and frost is settling on the blades of grass during the night.  The days are shorter and the instinct to curl up under soft, pillowy blankets is kicking in.

I hope that at the least the sun wins out for a good while longer.  I can take the chill, but I’ll be happier if the precipitation stays away.

After a two weekend hiatus from the farmer’s market here, I went for a chilly morning shopping trip.  As cold as it was outside, I was pretty ecstatic.  Just being outside in the sun and knowing that I don’t have to go into the hospital today is pretty exciting.  I do have a lot of things to take care of, but they’ll get done in due time.

Sadly, the market has some gaps as the vendors start disappearing for their winter hibernation.  This was the last week for the farm that I get my vegetables from.  I feel pretty sad about that.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do for vegetables this winter (the answer is go to the co-op or the grocery store, but I’d rather not).  In any case, enough ramblings.  Onto the food.

Looks good, huh?  I didn’t buy as much as I usually do because I still have some kale and red cabbage hiding out in my fridge right now.

First up, cheese.  This week in addition to my favorite pumpkin chevre, there is a garlic and dill chevre.

I was instructed to buy beets and eat the garlic and dill chevre with the beets.  I’m pretty excited, especially since I got two varieties of beets that I haven’t tried before.

And while we’re talking about beets, chioggia beets (aka candy striped beets) and golden beets.

They don’t look like much now, but I’ll share the fun later when I get to cooking.

Another fun colored food is the red kuri squash, which is really a very deep red-orange color.  So pretty and very tasty, too.

This one doesn’t have the bump on top that my kuri squash from last week did.  All the better for cooking.

New items this week (as in new to me) are vitamin greens…

and celeriac (or celery root…I’ve heard both).

I’ve actually had the celery root before while I was on my hiatus, but I never shared.  I was glad to find them today since I liked the taste and texture when I tried them.

I also bought a head of romaine lettuce, which has been my favorite lettuce since I was a kid.

And some red scallions.

From a different farm, I bought a huge stalk of brussel sprouts.  I can’t wait to get them in a pan with some ghee.

 

 

We can’t forget my favorite yogurts…

I even have a new flavor this week: apple pie!

Finally, protein.  I either missed the lady who sells the eggs and meat that I usually visit or she wasn’t there today.  I’m going to say that she was missing, but I almost missed the yogurt man today because he was occupying a different spot. I had to resort to other measures, as in visit another vendor.

I bought three pounds of grass fed ground beef that comes in these convenient one pound logs.

I’m not usually one of those people that goes to a farm stand and asks questions about the products.  I just usually judge for myself.  Reading material usually helps, but asking questions is not my forte.  Today, though, for some reason, I got bold and asked if the cows were grass fed, and the lady said, “Completely.”  Yay!  Even more interesting, the cows are a different breed so they supposedly still get the fatty streaks that you might see in a “normal” grain fed cow.  Guess, I’ll be visiting her stand from now on as well.  I’m all about finding people I like who have practices that I like and then being a loyal customer.

That pretty much wraps up today’s market trip.  Cooking to come later on today.  For now, I need to go in search of some glass food storage containers.  I seem to have left mine down south.

Till later.

 

 

 

 

One response to “November

Leave a Reply

