November Musings

I’m not sure that November and I are friends this year.  I seem to have gotten off to a rough start and I am already halfway through the month.  I am just hoping to make it to Thanksgiving in one piece.  Despite the lack of posts on here, I actually have a million photos that are dotted all over my desktop waiting to be uploaded and written about.

I find that when I’m back logged inevitably some posts never get written.  I’m going to do my best to catch up and to make sure that I blog about those things that I said I would blog about in earlier posts.  I can’t make any promises though.

So in my last post, I talked about calamari.

Looks good doesn’t it?  I have to say the calamari was tasty, but I think in the future I’ll leave the calamari making to someone else.  Dodging big gobs of hot flying oil is not my idea of a fun evening.

For anyone who does want to undertake the making of their own calamari, this is how I did it.

  1. Buy some fresh calamari squid.  
  2. Slice squid into pieces.  Now, if you’re like me and you are impatient, you’ll try cooking the first batch without cutting the squid into rings and you’ll get something that ultimately looks like this:  
  3. Beat an egg or two in a bowl.  
  4. Pour out some almond flour onto a plate and give a few good shakes of oregano and some salt.  Stir the mixture well so that you get even flavoring.  I kept replenishing the almond flour mix since it gets all stuck together into an unusable mess after coating a few pieces.  
  5. Fry calamari in a pan with oil.  I used regular olive oil, but you can use any high smoke point fat of your choice.  I only have a picture of frying up the large unsliced squid, which was fried in a little bit of oil.  In comparison, I fried my rings up in a good amount of oil, which led to the gobs of flying oil that I referred to above.  Fry a couple of minutes on each side.  You’ll notice the pieces shrinking up and getting warped.  Being that this was my first time doing this, I don’t have any good cooking advice for you.
  6. In the end you get either the picture you see in step 2, or this:  

Personally, I’m partial to the sliced up calamari that ends up in rings of fried up goodness.  The trick is to make sure you put some oregano into the flour because that makes the flavor that much better.  I wish I had remembered to squeeze a lemon over these guys, but I didn’t have any.  Another tasty idea might be to drizzle a tiny bit of honey over these when they are still warm and add some sliced almonds or crushed nuts to the top.

So, I’m still behind on blogging, I forgot to take pictures of what I bought yesterday at market (nothing too exciting, so you won’t be missing much), and it’s getting late.  I’ll do what I can to catch up this week, but no promises.  I’m still trying to work myself out of my uninspired funk.

Have a great week!

PS Check out the new Info page.  I put all the places that I’ve been mentioning on this blog into one place.  There are links if you want to check out the places where I get my food from.
Leave a Reply

