Pancakes

 

(from the left, clockwise) almond butter version, plain version, pumpkin chevre version


I never really understood the appeal of pancakes or waffles.  I could see their appeal.  They seem to call to you with their carb-y goodness.  Pancakes are also wonderfully fluffy to boot.  The only thing is that cooking pancakes and waffles myself usually resulted in less than stellar results.  I am not one to tolerate flops in the kitchen when I’m hungry.

In college when I had a fantastic dining hall at my disposal, I’d go and order breakfast and sit in the silence of a nearly empty early morning dining hall enjoying my chocolate chip pancake and two eggs over easy.  Yes, you read that right.  I ate my two eggs over easy on top of my plate sized chocolate chip pancake.  You are entitled to be grossed out, but really, you should try it sometime.  It’s fantastically tasty.

In the years since college I haven’t thought much about pancakes.  I can’t remember the last time I had pancakes in fact.  I think it might have been college and that was many years ago.  In any case, the subject of pancakes came up yesterday during my weekly farmer’s market socializing.  I didn’t think too much of it, but I guess the thought of pancakes stuck with me.

This morning I knew I wanted to catch some of the good weather, so I went out for a run/walk in the balmy, windy morning.  The temperatures are only going to drop today (what kind of a place has weather where the temperature gets colder during the day?!).  So, off I went.  I wasn’t really feeling the whole thing, but I knew I needed it.  I headed out and ended up at the co-op.

I took a leisurely browse knowing that there wasn’t anything that I had to buy.  I always love just wandering around and discovering new things.  As I was wandering up and down the aisles, I ended up in the baking section and I thought, “I wonder if they have any coconut flour.”  Lo and behold, one lone bag of coconut flour awaited adoption and pancakes were at the top of the list.

After doing a little google searching, I found that paleo pancakes tended to fall into four broad categories:

  1. almond flour based pancakes
  2. coconut flour based pancakes
  3. mixed almond and coconut flour based pancakes
  4. banana (no flour) based pancakes

Of all the recipes (if you google paleo pancakes you will get a lot of hits), none of them really caught my eye.  I decided to wing things.  I went for a coconut flour based pancake and started off with 1/4 cup of coconut flour (by the way, coconut flour smells amazing and I think they would make fantastic cookies).

This is the basic gist of what I did:

1/4 cup coconut flour

dash of salt

1/4 teaspoon of baking powder (it’s not completely paleo, I know…you can use baking soda if it helps you sleep better at night)

2 duck eggs (that’s all I had, most everyone else uses your standard chicken eggs)

coconut milk – I just kept adding until I liked the consistency of the batter

Mix/combine all the ingredients together in a bowl and fry up in a frying pan.  I used ghee for the first few and then switched to coconut oil.  The sweetness of the coconut flour doesn’t seem to go too well with the ghee.

Almond butter pancakes

After making the basic batter, I added some add ins.  To one part of the batter I added almond butter (don’t ask me how much, I don’t know.  Just add as much as makes you happy) and to another part I added some pumpkin chèvre.  Remember this guy?

Yup, I put a bit of that in the batter.  It’s hard to do straight out of the fridge.  Next time I would probably let it warm up to room temperature before swirling it into my batter.  I’d also probably like to put some cinnamon and nutmeg swirls into it.  I was feeling impatient and didn’t get much fancier than doing simple add ins.

Time for the awards:

  • best pancake – the regular batter without any add ins.  The batter cooks up into a fluffy light lemon saucer of tastiness.  It’s fluffy, but in a different way than a regular pancake.   It’s similar to the difference between custard and yogurt.
  • easiest to flip almond butter fortified batter.  My research of paleo pancakes this morning revealed that paleo pancakes can be difficult to flip.  Hence all the small cookies sized pancakes this morning.
  • most likely to go well with fruit and syrup – almond butter fortified batter.  I can’t be definitive about this because I found my strawberries covered in a nice sheen of mold this morning – talk about disappointment.
  • most decadent – pumpkin chèvre version. While good the way that I made them, I think that with some more experimentation and tweaking, you could get a really decadent version that would be nice to serve on special occasions.  We’ll see if I ever get around to that.

The pumpkin chevre ones in the middle got a little burnt. Regular on the left and almond butter on the right.

At the end of the day, I’m not big into products made from flour.  Even if they are paleo approved flours.  For one thing, they tend to take longer to prepare and cook.  I also think that paleo foods that are made from flours tend to be heavier and give you the effects that you might get from eating wheat products anyway, so I might just end up being one of those people who eats a wheat laden product every now and then.

My personal philosophy is to eat what I want to eat instead of eating some modified version that might fit into my diet.  Will I make paleo pancakes again?  Possibly.  I won’t be eating these with any regularity, but it was fun to give paleo pancakes a shot.

 

One response to “Pancakes

Leave a Reply

