A Tale About Chicken Soup

Let me tell you the tale of this chicken soup made on the fly.  It smells fantastic and I wish I could let you have some because this soup is that good.

I was at my wonderful co-op the other day and just like any responsible earth loving co-op, the person that checked me out asked if I wanted him to lop off the tops of my carrots for compost.  I remembered that I have been thinking about making some chicken soup for a while and asked for parsnips instead.  Luckily they had some parsnips.  I picked up some celery when I was at the grocery store and then I was all set to make some soup.

After defrosting some chicken drumsticks from the freezer in my fridge, I got home today and got to work.  I did all these steps on the fly which I don’t really recommend.  You don’t want to see the carnage of discarded vegetable parts on my kitchen counter right now.  In any case, this is what I did.

  1. Pour a big glug of olive oil into my trusty Le Creuset oval dutch oven.  Really, any sturdy pot should do here, I just happen to love me a Le Creuset.
  2. Put the pot on the stove over medium heat.
  3. Dump in a good amount of onions chopped into large pieces, whole cloves of garlic, salt, and pepper.
  4. Get everything stirred around until you get some browning of the onions and the garlic.
  5. Add the drumsticks.  Cook until brown and then turn over and cook until the other side is brown.
  6. While doing step five, add some chopped carrots, parsnips, celery, and carrot tops (the green leafy parts).
  7. Peel a good chunk of ginger and chop into big pieces and add to pot.
  8. Once chicken is brown on all sides and you mix up all the ingredients in the pot (the vegetables don’t really need browning, but it would probably make it extra tasty if you did.  Cook’s preference here.), add water.
  9. Cover and when things start boiling, turn down the heat to a dull roar, a.k.a. a simmer, and simmer away covered for about 40 minutes.
  10. Check your chicken, and if you are happy with the chicken, you’re done!

I’m kind of excited that I got that all into 10 steps.  The reality is that everything was a lot more on the seat of my pants cooking and I just cooked in the way that made sense to me.  I’m sure I violated a million chicken soup rules and used all the wrong cooking words in my description above, but tonight, I’m not worrying about it.  Just roll with me here, all right?

I mean there is nothing left to do here, except eat this up.  How can you resist this?

I’ll be portioning into containers for meals.  One drumstick a meal, so I’m looking at five meals here.  Probably more like four, since I’ll probably get through one drumstick right now.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some eating and some more cooking to do.

I’m feeling a little less down in the dumps, so stay tuned.  Hopefully, I can get out some more posts and catch you all up with what’s been going on in this kitchen.

Hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving and is enjoying the holiday season!

PS If you aren’t following a paleo or primal way of eating like I am, dump some egg noodles in for extra fun.  🙂  (Not that I’m advocating eating wheat or anything, but different strokes for different folks…I’m okay with that.)

Leave a Reply

