Back Into the Swing of Things

I’m back in the cold, snowy north.  First thing I did was go to the co-op last night for some food.  (I always leave my fridge nearly empty if I go away.)  This morning, I went to the farmer’s markets.  Luckily, the brave two souls doing the outdoor market were open as well, so I was able to get some yogurt.  (I can buy the yogurt at the co-op or the local grocery store, but I just never think to.  Plus, there are more flavors and you get the lowdown on new flavors as they are being developed.)

At the wintermarket, I got the usual things like eggs and meat.  This week was duck eggs and rabbit meat.  No goat.  I was actually hoping for some goat.  Oh well.  I’m still working up the nerve to try and cook rabbit and goat that is not ground.

The new items this week from the market are…

1. pinkfruit yogurt – a new flavor from White Cow Dairy that combines pink grapefruit with cranberry, meyer lemon, and maple sugar.

and…

2. feta cheese – a light and crumbly feta that melts like a charm as promised.

I had both for breakfast when I got back from the market.  I made myself a duck egg and some Applegate Farms Sunday Bacon.  Then I wilted the spinach with a dash of olive oil and sprinkled on feta cheese.  I wanted the flavors to come through, so I didn’t add any pepper, salt, or spices.  I think that next time around a squeeze of lemon and some freshly ground black pepper would make the dish extra tasty.

The feta is not your standard grocery store feta.  It still has the tang of feta cheese without being obnoxious, overbearing, or leaving an aftertaste.  I was never a big fan of feta cheese, but this one is intriguing and interesting.  Not to mention tasty.  I just need to learn some more adjectives to describe tastes and textures.

So, I’m back into the swing of things and hopefully getting some more posts up here for you to read.  I have a backlog of posts that are sitting in the drafts pile waiting to be written and posted, so I’ll be playing catch up until I run out and then go with new things.

Stay warm and safe out there.

2 responses to “Back Into the Swing of Things

Leave a Reply

