Early Morning Breakfast

Good morning!

I had every intention of being up early this morning, but not exactly this early.  I probably woke up somewhere around 3 am and actually got up and started my day about 45 minutes later.  Despite the lack of sleep, I actually do like this time of day.  It’s early enough that most of the world is sleeping or at the very least still at home.  The world is pretty quiet outside and everything feels calm.  This is why I also like being up late at night.  Of course this combination of liking late nights and early mornings does not make for very good sleep.  (I did go to sleep early last night, though, so I’m not terribly sleep deprived.)

Since good sleep wasn’t forthcoming, I got up and made breakfast.  Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.  I love starting my day by making breakfast.  I also love eggs.  Chicken eggs, duck eggs, turkey eggs…I like them all.  This past week has been a duck egg week.

Yum.  Even more yum is the rest of this breakfast.  Without further ado…I present today’s breakfast.

The mushrooms are what really make today’s breakfast awesome.  These are not your ordinary grocery store mushrooms, but a light brownish-tan colored mushroom known as maitake.  The mushroom goes by a lot of different names depending on who you are and where in the world you are.  Whatever you call it, this mushroom is quite tasty.

So, what did I do to get such a tasty treat?

1. Start off with some sesame oil (for the record, the sesame oil from the Asian supermarket tastes way better than this stuff that I bought from the co-op…oh well) and minced garlic.  My garlic probably looks more chopped than minced since I have neither the patience, nor the knife skills to really do a good mince.  Add a dash of freshly ground black pepper if you like.  (I did.)

2. Heat over medium-low heat stirring as you go until the garlic gets browned and toasty looking.  Toss in your already washed and chopped (I just took the mushroom apart with my fingers after I cut off the base) mushrooms into the pan and turn the heat up a bit.

3. Move the mushrooms around to ensure they are evenly coated with garlic bits and oil.  After a minute or so, add a dash of tamari or soy sauce (I know, I know, not paleo), stir for even flavoring, and cover for a minute or two to get the mushrooms cooked all the way through.

Is your mouth watering yet?

4. Uncover your mushrooms, add in some chopped scallions, give it a final stir, and turn off the heat.

5. Plate and eat!

 

I pretty much think that everything tastes better with an egg, so I sandwiched these guys between a duck egg and some red leaf lettuce.

The only sad part to the story is that I ate all the mushrooms.  I’ll have to pick some more up from the co-op.

Well, I’m off to take advantage of the extra time I got from being up so early this morning.  Stay tuned for more catch up posts and eating fun.

2 responses to “Early Morning Breakfast

  • Conor Bofin

    Far too organised for me. We eat muesli for breakfast most mornings. At the weekend, when I am not working, I cook most else. That is when I can get complicated and ‘express myself’ with my cooking. I am no gourmet but I enjoy it. Duck eggs are not easy to get here. They are so tasty. Your breakfast looks great.
    Conor

    • koritt

      Hi Conor,

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I have to say I’m not always so organized, it just happened this morning. A stroke of luck. As are the duck eggs. I don’t know if I’d be able to get them anywhere else. It just so happens that there is a vendor at the farmer’s market here who sells them. She also sells other types of eggs. In fact, I also had a turkey egg for lunch today. One of these days, I’ll try the quail eggs.

      I’m hoping that I’m going to feel adventurous enough sometime soon, so I can try a hand at making the lamb you posted up.

      Thank you again for the wonderful comments!

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

