The Dishes Need To Be Done

I was hoping to get to the pork today because I feel like that would clear out my fridge nicely.  However, taking a look into my fridge, I’m thinking that I must have been hungry and/or crazy when I made my shopping list and went shopping.  My fridge is way too full for someone that is cooking for one person!  I also realized that I can cut recipes in half.  Why this did not occur to me when I made my list, I don’t know.  It’s a mystery.

I think that what I’ll do is probably try to make everything that’s on my recipe list (minus those lovely chocolate cupcakes) and then freeze whatever I can’t eat right away.  The debate raging in my head right now is whether I go to the farmer’s market tomorrow.  I think that my insane shopping spree was because next weekend I know I won’t be able to get to the farmer’s market and I guess I had visions of starving that week.  In any case, I hope that I can freeze stuff because otherwise I’m in big trouble.  I guess I should have paid attention when the girl checking me out asked me if I had children.  (!!)

So, I have a sink, countertop, and stovetop full of dishes that need to be done.  Looking at that stresses me out, so I figured it was time to wind up the cooking fun today.  I finished off things with Kaprise’s Sweet Potato and Swiss Chard Casserole.

Now, doesn’t that look warm and inviting?  For all you paleo/primal eaters out there, this is paleo comfort food at its best!  Everyone else, I know you have things like macaroni and cheese, but you most definitely need to add this to your recipe box.

I realize that I probably screwed up a little bit making this.  I used a precooked chicken sausage, which I forgot to put in the fridge when I got home.  Whoops!  I think the recipe meant for a real chicken sausage, you know, the kind that comes raw.  It’s still good the way it is, but I’ll have to try the “real” way next time.

The best part about this recipe is that I can think of a million ways to make variations of a theme.  You could change the meat, add other vegetables, change up the spices…on and on and on.  I’m thinking a layered version would be pretty awesome, too.

I’m hoping that I have some left over to eat as a post workout meal this upcoming week.  I doubt it, but one can always hope.

Off to tackle the dishes.

Leave a Reply

