Rainy With (A Chance Of) Meatballs

I remember reading a whimsical book back in the day called Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs.  I don’t remember much of the book except that it was a little ridiculous (I was always a serious sort of child), but I remember the book being well loved.  So, if you have children or need to get in touch with your inner child, go and find it at the library or bookstore.  (P.S. Real books are cooler than e-books…just saying.)

Well, today is definitely a cloudy day.  In fact, it’s a rainy day filled with thunder and bursts of rain drops pattering down.  After a late start to a lazy morning, I figured cooking would be a good way to warm up the day (and clean out my fridge).  I’ve been making lists and cooking plans in my head all week, but haven’t found the energy to really go at cooking full steam.  Now, it’s come down to a matter of necessity.  I’ve depleted my freezer store of these guys and while my fridge is full of all sorts of veggies and meats, everything is sitting in there in their wonderfully whole form.

After much contemplation all week, I’ve come up with a meatball recipe of my own.  Now, I use recipe in the loosest of terms since I don’t really cook with measuring utensils unless I’m trying out a recipe that someone else wrote.  I’m going to write down approximately what I used, but feel free to play around with amounts.  Use your nose as a guide.

Rainy Day Meatballs

Ingredients:

1 pound ground bison meat

1 pound ground goat meat

2 Tablespoons stone ground mustard, the no salt kind

1 Tablespoon curry powder

1 teaspoon cumin powder

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon salt, scale this back if your mustard has salt

generous dose of freshly ground black pepper

dash cayenne pepper powder

1 Egg

A handful of chives, chopped

About 2.5 ounces of feta cheese

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a large bowl, combine goat and bison meat using your hands, set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, mix the mustard and spices together.
  4. Add the egg to the mustard mix and beat well.
  5. Add the chopped chives to the mustard egg mix and mix well, set aside.
  6. Crumble the feta cheese and incorporate into the meat using your hands.
  7. Add the mustard egg mix to the meat and incorporate until the mixture is uniform.
  8. Form into meatballs and bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for 20 minutes or until browned on top and cooked all the way through.  I usually turn my meatballs after about 15 minutes and then cook until browned, which usually takes about 10 more minutes.

 

Other than spontaneously throwing things in a pan for a meal, which is relatively foolproof, I don’t think I’ve come up with a recipe on my own before that’s worked out so well.  These came out great.  You still get the buttery taste of the goat meat without being too strong.  The spices give it a good balance and the cheese is a nice surprise.

This comes together pretty quickly and makes enough for a whole bunch of people.  If you try it out, let me know how it turns out, I’d love to hear about it!

4 responses to “Rainy With (A Chance Of) Meatballs

Leave a Reply

