Exhaustion Cheat Meal

If you’ve been following along, you know that a little over a year ago I changed my eating style to be more in line with paleo principles. Honestly, I’d like to think that I seek out and eat real foods and don’t spend a lot of time worrying about what I’m eating as long as it’s real food.

I realize I haven’t been around a lot since coming back from my hiatus and I apologize.  Life has been pretty crazy and while I’m taking photos and thinking about blog posts while going about my life, I haven’t had the time to sit and sort things out.

To be honest, I’ve been a bit bored food wise lately, so there is that, too.

I spent all day today packing boxes and moving.  After four trips back and forth, I am pretty much plastered onto my floor without much hope of getting up off the floor for a while.

As a reward to myself (I know, you aren’t supposed to reward yourself with food), I went out to NoNoo Ramen Bar and ordered myself a tonkatsu ramen for dinner.  I would have taken a picture for you, but I was starving.  I practically had drool coming out of my mouth as I drove my fragrant dinner home.  The dish is amazing.  Thick, milky colored pork broth with thick slices of fatty bacon, a soft boiled egg, seaweed, and ramen.  

I know that the ramen is wheat, but it was hand made and excellent.  Every once in a while, I need to make an exception and visit the non-paleo side of things.  Definitely a worthy meal.  Paleo or not, you should have some.

I hope to be back with more exciting news and photos after I’m all settled in at my new apartment.  I’ll be debuting a much, much smaller kitchen, but at least the mini range is a gas one.  1.5 years and I’m out of here.  I can’t wait.

2 responses to “Exhaustion Cheat Meal

  • Gracie May

    I can relate to the moving and exhaustion thing… My problem is that we only moved 8 minutes away and instead of packing up everything all at once, we keep going back and forth picking up more stuff as we find the time (or desire). I’m really tired of it, haha.
    I’m actually quite pleased at how well I’ve been doing food wise since we moved. Our first week moving was kinda lame. I ate tons of granola (oats and sugar!) and chips. But once we got moved in I’ve been making more food than normal (strange?) and eating hardly any grains. I’m no longer planning on going grain free for real, but simply reducing my consumption. If I could just wean myself off the corn chips… I’m such a snacker. I’m drinking close to 2 cups of tea a day… sometime less sometimes more. I think it helps with my snacking impulse.
    I want to get back to blogging but our current internet really sucks and I’m not sure how well it will work out. Anyway, it’s hard to think about doing “new” things right now when I’m still trying to get organized around here.

    • koritt

      I totally hear you. I, too, moved within a couple of miles of where I was living and moved over the course of a few days. Thank goodness for two of my friends who put up with all the hauling and back and forth. Otherwise I would have been stranded! I had to put all my stuff in a back room until the apartment that I was moving into was free. So, now I’m slowly dragging things down the hall as I clean and get organized, but there is still so much left to do. Plus, I’m sure I’ll need help with the three heavier pieces of furniture that don’t come apart. Blah.

      I’ve been eating prepared food from my local co-op or eating out which has been pretty expensive, but the apartment is still completely disgusting. People are gross!! I bought a huge bottle of bleach so I can sterilize everything!! And, two pairs of rubber gloves.

      I don’t have any internet and I just looked into getting some while I’m using the coffee shop internet and the cable company totally changed their pricing structure and policies, so now I’m confused and pretty sure it’s going to cost me more than I really want it to. Double blah. I’ll have to get on getting internet though because I’m lost without it.

      Moving is such a pain and I’ve moved every year for the last three years. This is my fourth apartment since moving to this town. I’m counting down the days until I can leave this town and stop moving around!

      Hope things are going well over there! I’m glad that the food things are going better over there!!

Leave a Reply

