Fast and easy fancy dinner

I know I’ve been such a terrible slacking off blogger and not only have I not been around, the piddly posts that I’ve put up the last few times really doesn’t cut it. Well, here is what I made for dinner tonight. Maybe this will help you all forgive me.

20121106-214541.jpg

I made this dinner for two and it was surprisingly fast and easy considering I was working with a one hour time frame to cook and clean. How’s that for efficient? (Okay, admittedly all the stuff I couldn’t properly clean up either got shoved in my room or into various drawers and cabinets, but still, the common areas were clean!)

So this is how I put dinner together:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
2. Wash and cut an acorn squash in half.
3. Coat acorn squash generously with olive oil and sprinkle cinnamon and nutmeg over both halves.
4. Place cut side down in a baking dish and place in oven. Allow that to roast for 30-40 minutes until soft and then flip over for another 5-10 minutes.
5. While squash is roasting, wash and slice a package of mushrooms.
6. Heat some butter (use a generous amount 1-2 tablespoons) in a frying pan and then dump the sliced mushrooms in. Make sure all the mushrooms get doused in the butter.
7. While those mushrooms are cooking (don’t forget to stir them around here and there), dice an onion.
8. Heat another skillet up with olive oil and dump the onion in. (Stir those mushrooms in the other pan!)
9. Add a package of sausage of your choice to the onions. I used a Cajun Turkey sausage from the co-op.
10. Break up the sausage into small pieces and cook until pieces are mostly cooked.
11. (Optional) add left over rice or chopped veggies of your choice to the onion and sausage mix. I used left over rice.
12. By now your mushrooms should have sucked up the buttery goodness and should have shrunken in size. Add a generous splash of port wine or any wine for that matter and keep cooking until the moisture is gone and the mushrooms get browned.
13. Your onion sausage mix should be done so turn off the heat.
14. Retrieve your acorn squash and plate. Put sausage onion mix into the cavity of the squash and the mushrooms go on the side.
14. Voila! Dinner.
15. PS I had some cauliflower hanging out in my fridge that had already been made up. I reheated that for some extra veggie power. So add on more sides as you can. šŸ™‚

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

